Abbott Memorial Library

Library History of the Library The Abbott Memorial Library was given to the Town of Dexter by George A. Abbott on Christmas Day 1894. In 1894 it housed a collection of 4,017 books. Today our collection numbers are over 26,217 and counting. This includes DVD’s, and unabridged audio tapes. The library subscribes to 66 magazines and five newspapers. An online index of periodicals which includes full text articles is available for patron use.The library provides services to the residents of Dexter, Cambridge, Exeter, Garland, Ripley, and St. Albans. Public Internet access is available from 8 (work stations), and we offer wireless Internet access as well as an on-line catalog of library holdings available through the Maine Balsam Libraries Consortium.  We accept telephone requests for renewals and provide in state as well as out-of-state inter-library loans, monthly lists of new books, public color copying and delivery of books to shut-ins.

Library Cats

The library has two resident library cats.  Scooter(calico) and Poppy seed (black)  both are females.  Scooter is shy and retiring and can normally be found in the library office.  PoppySeed  craves attention and will sit on or in your book bag while you use a computer.

Poppy Seed       poppy seed                  Scooterscooter

Archived Obituaries

The library’s Dexter obituary project is nearly finished; years 1865 through summer of 2014. We are now checking our database against obituary scrapbooks owned by the Dexter Historical Society and adding those that were not included originally in our database. Obituaries were obtained from Dexter’s Eastern Gazette, TheDailyME.com., and the Bangor Daily News Click here for the current database of Archived Obituaries. Beginning in November of 2014, we will begin adding obituaries from the town of Ripley, Maine.  If people have information to share, please Email your information to Head Librarian Liz Breault

Liz Breault Head Librarian One Church Street Dexter, Maine 04930 (207) 924-7292

Additional Links

Library Photos

englishteastore_1977_6579398

Holiday Tea

The staff and trustees of the library will be serving a festive holiday tea on Saturday, December 6th at 2 P.M.  All library patrons are invited to come, relax and share the beauty of the season with friends.  We’ll be serving little tea sandwiches and holiday pastries and most importantly… real tea(and coffee) from a lovely silver tea service. Join us!

 

****************************************************************************************************

Snake Art

The Trustees of the library recently made an eye catching donation to the children’s room.  On October 15th they voted to purchase Laurie Calhoun’s beautiful hand carved snake.  The 11 foot snake now crawls sinuously across the shelves in our children’s room.

snake

*****************************************************************************************************

Book Donations Donations of clean undamaged books are welcomed. No text books or Reader’s Digest books. Please contact the library at (207) 924-7292 for more information or to arrange for pick up of donations.

******************************************************************************************************

Monthly Book Club

cominghometoeat

In November we offer a celebration of food.  The Book Club will be reading “Coming Home to Eat” By Gary Paul Nabhan:  Nabhan’s book “in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Henry David Thoreau, Gary Paul Nabhan relates how his experience with food permeates his life as an avid gardener and forager, as an ethnobotanist and farmland conservation advocate, and as an activist devoted to recovering place-based heritage foods. Nabhan spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or gathered within 220 miles of his home—with surprising results.Already considered a landmark in the locavore movement, Coming Home to Eat“makes us understand how finding and eating local foods connects us deeply and sensually with where we are [and] why the everyday choices we make about food are the most important choices we make”

******************************************************************************************************

hammers

 

Hammer Display

Whether ball peen,electric,Swiss Army,  antique barrel, fencing, or masonry, Mark LeVasseur of Dover Foxcroft owns one.  His  collection of hammers is on display at the Abbott Memorial Library in Dexter for the month of November.    Mr. LeVasseur has been collecting hammers for over forty years.  The first hammer in his collection was an all steel hammer that belonged to his grandfather.   According to Mr. LeVasseur,“There is a hammer for any job you can imagine even a hammer for Hobbits.”

 

Library Story Time

storytime   Abbott Memorial Library holds Story Hour on Friday at 1 P.M. This program is for youngsters up to age 6, accompanied by a parent or other adult. This program is free to the public and includes stories, songs and crafts. Upcoming subjects include birds, flowers,  and other stories of Summer. Come join us for an enjoyable time. For further information, contact the library at 924-7292. For more information call the library at 924-7292 or email Liz.

2014 Library Trustees

Trustee   Term
Ann Marquis: – Chairman 1/13 – 12/15
Mark Christie: – Vice-Chairman 1/13-12/15
Connie Hall – Secretary 1/12-12/14
Corey Pearson – Treasurer 1/11 – 12/16
David Patterson 1/13 – 12/15
Richard Frank 1/13 – 12/16

Web Hosting Provided by Maine Hosting Solutions